The mission of the UCLA Sustainability Committee is to create a culture of sustainability at UCLA in which the entire UCLA community is aware of, engaged in, and committed to advancing sustainability through education, research, operations, and community service activities.


In the spring of 2004, the CA Student Sustainability Coalition (CSSC) at UCLA drafted a letter to Chancellor Carnesale requesting the creation of a Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Sustainability. Chancellor Carnesale responded generously and commissioned the creation of the Campus Sustainability Committee. To that committee were appointed several faculty and administrators from a variety of campus departments, including student affairs, capital programs, general services, communications, and the chancellor’s office, along with two graduate and two undergraduate student representatives. Two co-chairs were appointed to the committee, Mary Nichols, then Director of UCLA’s Institute of the Environment, and Tova Lelah, Campus Environmental Planner.The committee was chaired for eight years by Cully Nordby, Academic Director of the Institute of Environment and Sustainability. Over the years the Committee has established three sub-Committees; Academics,  Operations, and  Communications, and later area specific taskforces to help coordinate initiatives across the broad campus. Sustainability is inherently multidisciplinary and involves all departments of an institution. The committee plays a critical role in managing the complex issues of sustainability in a university setting.

In 2016, in recognition of the scope of challenges ahead and the need for full engagement of leadership, an Executive Committee was created with key leadership from across the university. Download the UCLA Sustainability Committee Charter.

UCLA Sustainability Committee

Executive Committee:

Committee Co-Chairs

Michael Beck, Administrative Vice Chancellor
Mark Gold, Associate Vice Chancellor for Environment and Sustainability


Michael Beck, Administrative Vice Chancellor (Co-Chair)
Ann Carlson, Professor, Executive Director Emmett Center for Climate Change
Susan Cochran, Immediate Past Academic Senate Chair
Mark Gold, Associate Vice Chancellor Environment and Sustainability (Co-Chair)
Monroe Gorden, Interim Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs
Sandra Graham, Academic Senate Chair
Nurit Katz, Chief Sustainability Officer
Jennifer Mnookin, Senior Dean for the Professional Schools and Dean, UCLA Law
Steve Olsen, Chief Financial Officer
Wendy Slusser, Associate Vice Provost, Healthy Campus Initiative
Johnese Spisso, President and CEO, UCLA Health System
Pat Turner, Senior Dean of the College
Rhea Turteltaub, Vice Chancellor, External Affairs
Bonny Bentzin, Deputy Chief Sustainability Officer (ex-officio)

Main Committee:


Members of the UCLA Sustainability Committee represent a broad range of campus experiences.  Committee participants include administrators and staff from the Chancellor’s Office, Capital Programs, Facilities Management, Transportation, Environment Health and Safety, Recreation, Housing, Student Affairs, and University Communications; faculty with expertise in business, ecology, public health, and the environment; as well as both graduate and undergraduate students.

Committee Chair

Mark Gold, Associate Vice Chancellor for Environment and Sustainability


2016-2017 Appointments to be determined


Yoram Cohen, Professor, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Carl Maida, Adjunct Professor, School of Dentistry
Cully Nordby, Academic Director, Institute of the Environment and Sustainability

Administration and Staff

Peter Angelis, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Housing & Hospitality Services
Jeff Averill, Campus Architect, Capital Programs
Bonny Bentzin, Deputy Chief Sustainability Officer
Mick Deluca, Director, Cultural and Recreational Affairs
Colin Dimmock, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Environment, Health, and Safety (Alternate: Michelle Amante Sityar, Safety Programs Manager)
Renée Fortier, Director, Events and Transportation
Karen Hedges, Assistant Director, Residential Life
Teresa Hildebrand, Sustainability Programs Manager, Health System
Hillary Gordon, Staff Assembly Representative
Nurit Katz, UCLA Chief Sustainability Officer
Chansoth Hill, Director, Events Office
Emma Sorrell, Sustainability Manager, Housing & Hospitality Services
Todd Lynch, Principal Project Planner, Capital Programs
Karen Noh, Special Projects Director, ASUCLA
Sue Santon, Associate Vice Chancellor, Capital Planning and Finance, Capital Programs
Kelly Schmader, Assistant Vice Chancellor, Facilities Management
Shawn Young, Strategic Sourcing Analyst, Purchasing
Bonnie Zucker, Staff Assembly Representative
Katie Zeller, Sustainability Coordinator, Recreation and Sports Venues

Committee Staff

Logan Linnane, Intern

Subcommittees and Taskforces

Academic Subcommittee – Chair: Carl Maida
Communications Subcommittee – Chair: Sandy Shin
Events Subcommittee – Chair: Chansoth Hill
Operations Subcommittee – Chair: Nurit Katz

Water Task Force – Chair: Tracy Dudman
Food Task Force – Chair: Aliana Lungo-Shapiro
Transportation and Planning Task Force – Co-Chairs: Renee Fortier and Sue Santon
Material Management – Chair: Bill Propst
Landscape and Natural Areas – Co-Chairs: Jerry Markham and Jeff Averill
Recycling and Waste – Chair: Bonny Bentzin and Katie Zeller
Green IT – Chair: Ravi Shah

Health System Sustainability Steering Committee

Chair: Paul Watkins, Chief Administrative Officer, UCLA Medical Center, Santa Monica
Co-Chair: Sara Lindenfeld, Sustainability Programs Manager
Richard Azar, Executive Director of General Services
Arturo Sanchez, Director, Environmental Services
Erik Eggins, Safety Director
Judi Goodfriend, Manager, Marketing
Annie Hilliard, Principal Food Service Manager
Nurit Katz, Chief Sustainability Officer, UCLA
Bonny Bentzin, Deputy Chief Sustainability Officer, UCLA
Patti Oliver, Director, Nutrition
Eimee Miura, Director, Procurement and Strategic Sourcing
Val Padilla, Director, Facilities
Michael Baca, Director, Materials Management
Teresa Zaroda, Quality Management Clinical Epidemiologist
Diane Zalba, Director of Pharmacy
Jon Smithers, Facilities Energy Manager
Amy Kraft, Project Manager, Planning, Design and Construction
Shaunte Walton, Director of Epidimiology – Infection Prevention
Martin Lingard, Transportation
Ron Cail, Procurement & Strategic Sourcing Coordinator
Suzanne Kiely, Planning Design & Construction Project Manager
Christina Colombo-Goodall, Director of Perioperative Nursing Operations
Michelle Tolentino, Director Nursing Admin & Volunteer Prog
Nilou Varahram, Business Manager Nursing Administration
Shaunte Walton, Director Clinical Epidemiology & Infection Prevention
Melissa Prado, Environmental Health & Safety Manager
Philip Levin, Chief Medical Officer
Patrese Kirsch, Wellness
Lloyd Brown, Pharmacy
Tony Johnson, Lab
Don Parks, Financial Systems
Jasmine Briones, Assistant Manager, Main OR
Kurt Kainsinger, Director, Office of Emergency Preparedness